Home Freda Warrington The Amber Citadel

The Amber Citadel (Jewelfire Trilogy)
Series: Jewelfire Trilogy
Volume: 1
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 0671021907
Publisher: Earthlight
Price: £5.99
Reader Rating: 5 out of 10
Votes: 3
The Amber Citadel by Freda Warrington

Description: Two hundred and fifty years ago, the dread Bhahdradomen were defeated in the War of the Silver Plains. Since then the continent of Aventuria has been at peace. But when its benevolent King Garnelys conceives the notion of building an immense monument to the gods, his efforts to achieve immortality bring the Nine Realms to the edge of disaster. Ysomir and Tanthe are sisters, living in the village of Riverwynde, two thousand miles from the capital, Parione. While Ysomir is in love with Lynden, son of the village's leader, Tanthe is bored with village life and wishes to leave for the wonders of Parione. But the King's growing madness leads to terrible events, the abduction of Ysomir, and the beginning of a long journey for Tanthe, Lynden and his brother Rufryd, as they set out for the Amber Citadel of Parione. Meanwhile the jealous, shape-changing Bhahdradomen are waiting in the shadows, only too ready to avenge their defeat and long exile. A third race, the mysterious Aelyr, keep themselves aloof - except for the elusive, beautiful, auburn-haired Aelyr male who has haunted Tanthe since childhood... 'A sweeping novel of magic, intrigue and war.'

THE AMBER CITADEL was published in March 1999, with a beautiful cover painting by the renowned fantasy artist Mick van Houten, and a launch at the British SF convention Easter 1999.

Also in this series are The Sapphire Throne, The Obsidian Tower Return to the Freda Warrington page.

Add inline Comment