Home Roger Zelazny Unicorn Variations

Unicorn Variations (Short Story Collections)
Series: Short Story Collections
Genre: SF
ISBN: 0722194153
Publisher: Sphere
Price: $14.95
Reader Rating: 5 out of 10
Votes: 3
Unicorn Variations by Roger Zelazny

Description: 'Gardner Dozois asked if I'd ever done a story involving a unicorn. I said I hadn't. He said that he and Jack Dann were putting together an anthology of unicorn stories, and suggested I write one. I told him I'd think about it. Later, another anthologist asked if I'd ever done a story set in a barroom - if so, he'd like it for a collection he was doing. I mentioned this to George R.R. Martin in case he'd ever done a unicorn story or a barroom story. He hadn't either, but reminded me that Fred Saberhagen was putting together a collection of chess-game stories. "Why don't you," he said, "write a story involving a unicorn and a chess game, set it in a barroom, and sell it to everybody?"'

Not all Zelazny's short fiction had such curious origins as the title story of this anthology, which features his best work over two decades. But all - from the Hugo and Nebula-scooping Home Is The Hangman to the rare and little-known My Lady Of The Diodes- show the same marvellous versatility and inventiveness that characterises this freewheeling SF virtuoso ...

1983 Collection of short fiction.
Unicorn Variations
The Last of the Wild Ones
The Naked Matador
The Parts That are Only Glimpsed: Three Reflexes
Dismal Light
Go Starless in the Night
But Not the Herald
A Hand Across the Galaxy
The Force That Through Which Drives the Current
Home is the Hangman
Fire and/or Ice
Exeunt Omnes
A Very Good Year
My Lady of the Diodes
And I Only Escaped to Tell Thee
Angel, Dark Angel
The Horses of Lir
The Night Has 999 Eyes
The George Business
Some Science Fiction Parameters: A Biased View

Also in this series are A Rose for Ecclesiastes, Four for Tomorrow, Frost and Fire, Manna From Heaven, My Name is Legion, The Illustrated Roger Zelazny, The Last Defender of Camelot, Threshold - Volume 1: The Collected Stories of Rog, Power & Light - Volume 2: The Collected Stories of Return to the Roger Zelazny page.

Add inline Comment