SFBookcase.com
Login
Home J. M. McDermott Last Dragon

Last Dragon (Discoveries)
Series: Discoveries
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 0786948574
Pages: 400 pages
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast Discoveries
Price: $14.95
Reader Rating: Not rated
Last Dragon by J. M. McDermott

Description: A tale of revenge that grows into something more, Last Dragon is a literary fantasy novel in the tradition of Gene Wolfe and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

My fingers are like spiders drifting over memories in my webbed brain. The husks of the dead gaze up at me, and my teeth sink in and I speak their ghosts. But it’s all mixed up in my head. I can’t separate lines from lines, or people from people. Everything is in this web, Esumi. Even you. Even me. Slowly the meat falls from the bones until only sunken cheeks and empty space between the filaments remind me that a person was there, in my head. The ghosts all fade the same way. They fade together. Your face fades into the face of my husband and the dying screams of my daughter. Esumi, your face is Seth’s face, and the face of the golem.

So begins the most startlingly original fantasy novel in decades.
Return to the J. M. McDermott page.

Add inline Comment